The Dystopian Conservative

“The country is going to hell in a hand basket.”  I have heard this said by many people.  And yes, I have said this myself several times as well.  I used to be what I know call a “dystopian conservative.”  The conservative that worries about the current or upcoming president being the next Hitler.  I listened to all the conservative talk show host.  I heard their words and felt fear.  Fear that one day, possibly soon, the government would rise up and treat us as slaves and bring an utter violent end to our freedom.  I heard the words and felt that America was justified for every foreign conflict of which we have engaged.  I heard the words and understood the constitution.  I heard the words and had solutions for every problem facing America.  I heard the words and knew that the Republican party with all its evils was still better than the Democratic party.  I heard the words and grew enraged over America’s situations.  I heard the words and thought of all the “immoral” problems facing America.  I heard the words and said, “the country is going to hell in a hand basket.”

And then something happened.  I read the constitution, read a few books about the constitution and the current president never became the next Hitler.  I looked at the voting record of nearly every popular politician and studied the policies of previous administrations.  And one day while eating lunch at work it hit me.  The parties, the news anchors, the radio hosts, all of them are full of shit.  Here I was thinking “The Hunger Games” are right around the corner, and I realized they were all full of shit.  I learned something important that day.  That if I wanted to progress as a human being and promote peace, I had to stop being a dystopian conservative.  The dystopian conservative calls the liberal an “anti-American.”  Yet, in the same breath says the country is going to hell because it is no longer great.  It is time to strip us Americans of our pride and realize we are not alone in the world.  And most importantly have some hopefulness about the country’s future and not think so much about the next regime.

Leave a Reply

